Black Bear Hunting in Alaska

RL450 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2022

Hunt Details

Hunt Number: RL450
Regulatory Year: 2022
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Black Bear
Legal Animal: One (1) black bear, except cubs and females accompanied by cubs

Number of Permits

Residency Number of Permits
Nonresidents Up to 99999 permits
Alaska residents Up to 99999 permits
Total Number of Permits Available Unlimited

Season Dates*

09/01/2022 - 05/31/2023

*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.

Residency Restrictions

  • Hunt available to Nonresidents
  • Hunt available to Alaska residents

Reporting Requirements

  • Successful Hunters
    • Report online or in person within 3 days. Sealing must be completed within 30 days.
    • Specimens Required: Skull and hide (unfrozen) with claws and evidence of sex attached
  • Unsuccessful Hunters
    Report online or in person within 15 days of the close of the season.
  • Internet Reporting
    You may report online at

Hunting Conditions

1) PERMIT: The RL450 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting a black bear and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.

2) WHEN: September 1 - May 31

3) WHERE: That portion of Unit 14C south of Eagle River between the ridge immediately east of the South Fork drainage and the confluence of Eagle River and Icicle Creek. The boundary along the Eagle River is the south bank of the main channel. The south boundary is the crest of the ridge between Eagle River and the South Fork of Eagle River. The permittee is solely responsible for securing permission to trespass on private land.

4) BAG LIMIT: One (1) black bear, except cubs and females accompanied by cubs. If you have killed a black bear anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, you are not eligible to participate in this hunt.

5) METHOD: Bow and arrow, crossbow or muzzleloader only.

6) CERTIFICATION: Both basic hunter education and weapons certifications are required.

7) REPORTING- SUCCESSFUL hunters: Report online at, or in person with a completed hunt report at ADFG in Anchorage or Palmer within 3 days of black bear harvest. Skull and hide, unfrozen with evidence of sex and claws naturally attached, must be sealed within 30 days of kill. Completed hunt report must be submitted at time of sealing.

UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT: Report online at, in person with a completed harvest report at ADFG in Anchorage or Palmer, or by mail to the Anchorage office, within 15 days of the close of the season.

8) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible for any drawing, Tier II,or registration (including Tier I Nelchina caribou) permits next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.

Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.